Small Town News

National Politics

Bingham County voters have choices in Tuesday's primary

The Aberdeen Times of Aberdeen, Idaho

- Advertisement -

Thirteen running for four county position

All of the candidates who filed for Bingham County offices were on the Republican ticket, so whoever wins the Primary Election Tuesday, May 13, will win the race, placing a lot of importance on the primary election.

Running for Bingham County Commissioner, First District, are Mark R. Bair, Merril Blake, Steven L. Cederberg, Barry F. Johnson, Matthew T. Thompson and Grant L. Thorson. They are running for the seat that will be vacated by Cleone Jolley when he retires. Bair is from Firth and the remaining candidates are from Shelley.

Running for Bingham County Commissioner, Third District, are incumbent A. Ladd Carter, Steven L. Kauer, and Kirk Ogden. Carter is from Pingree and the other two candidates are from Blackfoot.

Two are running for Bingham County Sheriff. They are incumbent Dave Johnson and Craig Rowland. Johnson is from Shelley and Rowland is from Blackfoot.

Two are also running for Bingham county Prosecuting Attorney. They are J. Scott Andrew and Cleve Colson, both of Blackfoot.

On the national level, U.S. Representative Mike Simpson is running to retain his seat in Congress. Fellow Republican M.C. "Chick" Hellison and Democrats Jack Wayne Chappel of Buhl and Nicole LaFavour hope to unseat him.

In District 31 for State Senator, Republican R. Stephen Bair, the incumbent, and Democrat Chjerie Harding Clawson are running. Both are from Blackfoot.

Candidates for State Representative Position A, which is being vacated by retiring incumbent Dennis Lake, include Democrat Barbara Ann Clark of Shelley and Republicans Neil A. Anderson, Mike Duff, Robert B. Butler and R. David Moore, all of Blackfoot.

Incumbent Jim Marriott is seeking to retain State Representative Position B. His opponents include fellow Republican Julie Van Orden and Democrat Jeannie M. James. Van Orden is from Pingree while Mariott and James are both from Blackfoot.

In the non-partisan ballot for Justice of the Supreme Court and Judge of the Court of Appeals, Dan Eismann, David Gratton and John M. Melanson are all running unopposed.

Polls will be open from 8 a.m to 8 p.m. on Tuesday, May 15. Aberdeen area residents will vote at the American Legion Hall and the Springfield/Sterling area residents will vote at the Springfield Road and Bridge Shop.

All residents are encouraged to exercise their right and get out and vote.

Copyright 2012 The Aberdeen Times, Aberdeen, Idaho. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: May 9, 2012

More from The Aberdeen Times