Small Town News

National Politics

Status quo remains after city elections

The Akron Hometowner of Akron, Iowa

- Advertisement -

The only surprise in local city elections was a successful write-in campaign in Westfield.

Incumbent Jo Ann Eden will be joined by write-in councilor candidates Tammy Hummel, wife of Mayor Bill Hummel, and Don Dion, who didn't file nomination papers on time.

Councilor candidates Bonnie Lahr and Julianne Young, who were listed on the ballot, lost their bid for election by just a few votes.

Eden received the most councilor votes with 33. Tammy Hummel received 26 votes and Dion, 25. Lahr received 24 votes and Young, 22.

In addition, write-in mayoral candidate Bill Hummel beat mayoral candidate Michael Bohlke. Hummel had 30 votes while Bohlke received 20.

There were 53 voters casting ballots in Westfield's city election.

"I'd like to thank everybody for voting for us," said council-seat winner Don Dion. "We'll continue to provide the needs of Westfield as we see it. Again, thank you very much."

"Thank you to everybody who voted for me," said incumbent Jo Ann Eden. "We'll do the best we can for Westfield."

"Thanks for the votes," said Tammy Hummel, who didn't seek office but still won a first term on the council. "I'm honored to represent Westfield, and I hope to do the best 1 can for the town."

"I'm deeply touched by all the community support that would choose me again as mayor — even though I didn't run," said mayoral seat winner Bill Hummel. "It must show I have done something right over the past 10 years (in elected office). I want to thank everyone who voted for me."

Akron Council

It was no surprise that all incumbents kept their seats in the Akron election race — there were no challengers.

Councilors Chad Ericson, Brent James, Deanna Boe and Barbara Johnson will continue to serve on the council with Councilor Bob Frerichs.

James received the most votes ' with 44; Boe received 42; Johnson, 41 and Ericson, 33.

James and Ericson will serve another four years while Boe and Johnson will complete the vacancies created by the resignations of Lisa Roggatz and Lori Martin.

Akron Care Center

Incumbent Trustees Iola Frerichs, Daniel Rexwinkel and Tamera Small will begin serving four-year terms on the Akron Care Center Board of Trustees in January.

All three had been appointed to fulfill the unexpired terms of the late Ron Wilmot and trustees who had resigned, Joy Dirks and Curt Lewison.

There were 48 voters who cast ballots in this election.


These are the unofficial election results".

The Plymouth County Board of Supervisors will canvass the votes on Tuesday, Nov. 10 and officially announce the winners.

Copyright 2009 The Akron Hometowner, Akron, Iowa. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: November 11, 2009

More from The Akron Hometowner