Small Town News


Cheney School District honors employees for their service

Cheney Free Press of Cheney, Washington

- Advertisement -

Community members, friends and family came to honor Cheney School District teachers, staff and retirees at the annual Employee Recognition Night, held on May 11 at Snowdon Elementary School.

Winners of the "You Raise Me Up Award" were Cheney High School mathematics teacher Julie Esquibel, WestwOod Middle School seventh-grade teacher Lori Hays and Snowdon Elementary School fourth-grade teacher Eileen Ayersman.

Winners of the "Annette Grainer Team Collaboration Award" were the district's Kindergarten Readiness Team: C.J. Johnson, Candice Cwik, Deanna McCabe, Jennifer Gonzalez, Sally Canton, Judy Ableman, Sandra Reiber, Crystal Clapin, Leslie Cicero, Katie Barone, Emily Ham, Carly Jackson and Lynette Mellott.

Certificated retirees honored were Karen Azzinnaro, Joan Broeckling, Jeff Butler, Connie Jay, Sue McAdam, Barbara Olson and Tom Strasler.

Classified retirees honored were Elaine Beniasch, Lynn Burns, Rick Gillard, Jean Henderson, Ken Yorke and Cathy Brady.

Administration retirees were Debra Morris.

The Cheney School Board also honored departing superintendent Dr. Deb Clemens.

The following staff received years of service awards:

Five years — Shane Ableman, Brenda Borck, Joseph Flatt, Suzanne Lucas, Rod McMichael, Chelsea Moore, Angela Moses, Laura Parsons and Holly Rasmussen.

Ten years — Emily Audet, Angie Bosworth, Sonya Boyle, Celina Brennan, Susan Brown, Melissa Browne, Sally Canton, Ryan Fitzgerald, Pamela Gail, Amanda Guske, Cheryl Helsing, Michael Horrocks, Timothy Ledbetter, Patricia Longie, Sandra Mathews, Bobbie Merrill, Lisa Moore, Jeff Omlin, Patricia Rowley, Christopher Shears and Gary Ware.

Fifteen years — Karen Azzinnaro, Leeann Barton, Monique Baxter, Martina Brown, Erika Burden, Kelly Dolan, Harrianne Dominguez, Jerry Gillingham, Daphne Gillingham, Jennifer Hardt, Alan Harmon, LuAnn Heer-Weisgerber, Evi Hill, Judith James, Rachel Martin, Martha Meyers-Harris, Daniel Parrish, Wendy Stewart, Elizabeth Toulou, Jackie Triplett and Kirk Walker.

Twenty years — Tammy Hauer, Kathleen Larsen, Gerald Morton, Aubra Pengelly-Pollack, Jeffrey Pike, Sandra Reiber, Jeri Schmidt and Teresa Scrupps.

Twenty-five years — Sandra Brantley, Richard Brown, Charles Cone, Kim Dare, Julie Esquibel, Anthony Giammona, Lori Hays, Jennifer King, Julie Magee, Debra McGhee-Hill and Karlyn Towey.

Thirty years — Dianne Bates, Cheryl Hampton, Cindy Kessler, Anita Maurer, Lynn Reilly, Vincent Songaylo and Patricia Tresko.

Thirty-five years — Jeff Butler and Lyle Weaver.

Copyright 2016 Cheney Free Press, Cheney, Washington. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: May 19, 2016

More from Cheney Free Press