Small Town News


Delaware County Fair Board gets new member

The American of Vinita, Oklahoma

- Advertisement -

Tuesday the Delaware County Commissioners received a letter of resignation, effective immediately, from Calvin Williams as district No. 3 board member on the Delaware County Fair Board. In the letter Williams stated that due to ongoing health issues he is no longer able to serve the board.

District No. 1 Commissioner Doug Smith says, "We would like to express our appreciation for the time Mr. Williams did serve."

The Delaware County Fair Board submitted a recommendation to the Commissioners to fill the vacancy by Williams, In the letter it states that Charlotte Carnes has been an1 active'participant and supporter of the Delaware County Fair and that her efforts have been appreciated as the board looks forward to working with her in the future.

The Commissioners approved the appointment. District No. 3 Commissioner Danny Duncan says, "I concur with the board members that Charlotte Carnes would make an excellent choice."

Qaks Fire Department designated Vince Osburn and Chad Strong as their requisitioning officers, Melvin Blossom as receiving officer, Danny Russell as inventory officer, Vince Osburn as chief, Chad Strong as assistant chief, Bill Fields and Phred Spodnick as captains, and Claudine Christie as secretary for the 2012/13 fiscal year.

The Hickory Grove Fire Department designated Ann Poindexter and Blake Weldon as requisitioning officers, Tammie Presson as receiving officer, Blake Weldon and T. Sala as inventory officers, Ann Poindexter as board president, Frankie Shepherd as vice-president, Tammie Presson as secretary, Allen Vaughan as treasurer, and Blake Weldon as chief for the 2012/13 fiscal year.

The Leach Fire Department designated Jim Hix board president and requisitioning officer, Brian Nichols as board vice-president, Bonnie Wells as secretary, Tom Pearce as assistant chief and requisitioning officer, Bill Wells as requisitioning officer, Troy Sinor as chief and requisitioning officer, and Mike Russell, Jamie Hix and Bill Wells as board members for the 2012/13 fiscal year.

The Zena Fire Department designated Gregg Gardner and Tim Caswell as requisitioning officers, Matt Outhier and John Carpenter as receiving officers, Tom Caswell and Tracy Shaw as inventory officers, and Gregg Gardner, Tom Caswell, Clinton Creason, Tom Outhier, and Dale Wilson as board members for the 2012/13 fiscal year.

May 1, 2012 the Commissioners signed a used beam request form for use in District No. 3 on various bridges. Tuesday they approved a resolution concerning priority projects for the use of the beams on County Improvement for Roads and Bridges (CIRB) projects, which costs the county nothing.

The beams came from the Oklahoma City Crosstown expressway project that was disassembled. Legislation has allowed for the beams to be used by the counties free of charge. Commissioner Duncan plans to use the beams on at least 16 bridges in his district.

Commissioner Duncan has requested more beams and the list of bridges will increase he said.

Copyright 2012 The American, Vinita, Oklahoma. All Rights Reserved. This content, including derivations, may not be stored or distributed in any manner, disseminated, published, broadcast, rewritten or reproduced without express, written consent from SmallTownPapers, Inc.

Original Publication Date: August 2, 2012

More from The American